Thursday, April 03, 2008

A Giraffe's Five Stages of Grief (With Funny Video)

How people react and deal with grief and tragedy is essentially the same. Typically, people undergo five stages:

1. Denial: "It can't be happening."
2. Anger: "Why me? It's not fair."
3. Bargaining: "Just let me live to see my children graduate."
4. Depression: "I'm so sad, why bother with anything?"
5. Acceptance: "It's going to be OK."

These stages are summed up into the Kübler-Ross model. Kübler-Ross originally applied these stages to any form of catastrophic personal loss (job, income, freedom), such as divorce, infertility, a life sentence in prison, terminal illness, and death.

Although many people experience all five stages and in the aforementioned order, Kübler-Ross also claimed these steps do not necessarily come in the order noted above, nor are all steps experienced by all patients, though she stated a person will always experience at least two. And although this model is also commonly applied to the stages of grief, it also works in other circumstances that do not necessarily fall under the 'grief' category.

Not necessarily to make a laughing matter out of a serious one, but rather moreso to serve as a depiction of the five stages of grief, I found this video of a giraffe stuck in quicksand to serve as an amusing representation.

No comments:

Post a Comment